Notes on Kingston

In the local government reorganisation that became effective 1 st April 1965 the Royal Borough of Kingston-upon-Thames (i.e. with hyphens), part of the County of Surrey, merged with the Urban Districts of Surbiton and New Malden to become the Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames (i.e. without hyphens), part of Greater London. It is hoped to keep to this convention according to the prevailing date when writing records, but apologies if we slip up.


Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames council website


This page was last updated on 11th July 2008.